Transforming organisations – slides from the Agile2019 workshop in DC

A big thank you to everyone who came along to our workshop last week in Washington, DC. A whistle-stop hour-long session saw us sense-making – gathering about 80 experiences from people and signifying them on the walls (see the photos below), then visiting the Cynefin framework and talking about the implications of complex systems for transforming organisations.

 

The focus was on understanding how things might be nudged to change (and by implication where it’s possible to see what culture/attitudes/behaviours are very unlikely to change) – and then getting people involved in co-creating a portfolio of projects to move the system forwards. All the while, making sure a diverse group of voices get heard and a diverse group of actors are making the decisions and making things happen.

As promised, you can download our slides here: Ken Power, Tony Quinlan.Agile 2019.Sensemaking and Complexity.

Following the workshop (and its predecessor at XP2019 in Montreal), we’ve got two events coming up.

Sensemaking and Complexity in Organisations webinar

This 90 minute webinar will be on Thursday 26th September 2019. We’re holding this twice in the day to accommodate different global timezones:

9 am BST / 10 am CET / 14:30 IST / 6 pm Sydney
4 pm BST / 8 am PST / 11 am EST / 5 pm CET / 9:30 pm IST

To register your interest, email meg@narrate.co.uk

Public workshop on Sensemaking and Complexity to Transform your Organisation

This will be held in London (venue to be confirmed), on 17-18 October 2019. It’ll be an interactive two-day workshop, expanding on some of the elements we talked about at Agile2019, as well as giving you practical tools to start working with immediately.

We’re in the process of working out the details of venue, etc – to be first on the list for details and early bird tickets, register your interest by emailing meg@narrate.co.uk

 

 

Sensemaking en masse - the analogue process at the Agile2019 workshop in Washington, DC. Tony Quinlan and Ken Power facilitating.
Sensemaking en masse – the analogue process at the Agile2019 workshop in Washington, DC. Tony Quinlan and Ken Power facilitating.
Sensemaking en masse - the analogue process at the Agile2019 workshop in Washington, DC. Tony Quinlan and Ken Power facilitating.
Sensemaking en masse – the analogue process at the Agile2019 workshop in Washington, DC. Tony Quinlan and Ken Power facilitating.